Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver Honored as ICM Vocal Group of the Year

NASHVILLE (October 20, 2012) — Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver were presented with the prestigious Vocal Group or Band of the Year Award at the 18th Annual Inspirational Country Music Awards on Thursday night at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center in downtown Nashville.

Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver (DLQ) performed “God Can” on the ICM Awards Show, with their famed signature harmony ringing beautifully true in a facility known for its amazing acoustics. DLQ performed just after Chuck Hancock was presented with Male Vocalist of the Year honors and shortly before a powerful performance by John Berry of “Hard to Sing the Blues.” 

The Inspirational Country Music Association’s honor comes on the heels of Lawson’s induction into the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium in late September. Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver have multiple Grammy, Dove, IBMA and SPBGMA nominations, have released nearly 40 albums, and are seven-time winners of IBMA’s Vocal Group of the Year.

“Doyle is legendary in both bluegrass and gospel genres,” said Bob Cherry of Cybergrass, “and he frequently mixes them to deliver something special.”

A special evening it was for Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver as they took home their first ICM trophy, an exquisite etched glass creation, in a ceremony whose other nominees included country artists such as Alan Jackson, Josh Turner and Vince Gill, and bluegrass artists such as Ricky Skaggs, Rhonda Vincent, The Roys and the Isaacs.

Of the evening, Doyle Lawson said:

“What an honor it was to receive the ICM Vocal Group/Band of the Year Award last night at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center in Nashville.  We performed at the event last year, and I was most impressed with the focus on God, Family and Country.  Special thanks to Gene Higgins, his son Jason, and the entire ICMA staff for their hard work and dedication to the cause.  Also thanks to all the participating artists for making us feel welcome and at ease. And congratulations to all of the other winners last night! May God bless all of you in your efforts to spread the good news of the gospel in song and spoken word.”

Doyle Lawson’s award-winning band includes Mike Rogers (guitar/vocals), Corey Hensley (bass/vocals), Josh Swift (dobro/vocals), Joe Dean (banjo), Jason Barie (fiddle) and Kevin McKinnon (sound engineer).

Lawson and his band returned to the studio on Friday, continuing to lay down tracks for their upcoming eagerly-anticipated album release scheduled for early 2013.

For a complete list of 2012 ICM Awards winners, please go to:

For more information on Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, please go to:   and


Photo and Story Credits:

Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver – ICM’s newly awarded Vocal Group/Band of the Year- Story by Sherri George

Photo: L to R:  Jason Barie (fiddle), Josh Swift (dobro/vocals), Corey Hensley (bass/vocals), Doyle Lawson (mandolin/vocals), Mike Rogers (guitar/vocals), and Joe Dean (banjo). Photo by Sherri George.