Daywind Recording Artists Garner Top Honors at 2013 Absolutely Gospel Music Awards: Karen Peck wins Song of the Year and Album of the Year

KPHENDERSONVILLE, TN (April 11, 2013) – It was a very exciting night for Daywind artists at the Absolutely Gospel Music Awards on April 9, 2013. Karen Peck received the top honors of the evening, winning Song of the Year for “Mighty Big God” and Album of the Year for her solo recording “How You Walk the Miles.” Karen Peck and New River performed during the ceremony as well.

Brian Free and Assurance received awards in two categories. Their song, “I Want To Be That Man,” was awarded Progressive Song of the Year and the group’s lead singer, Bill Shivers, receive long overdue recognition as Male Vocalist of the Year. The group also performed at the ceremony, held in Nashville, TN.

When the winner of the Traditional Album of the Year award was announced, the crowd rose to its feet as Libbi Perry Stuffle of The Perrys came to the stage to accept the award for their album “Through The Night.” The audience was captivated by the testimony Libbi shared of how her husband, Tracy who has been in intensive care for 76 days after suffering a stroke, is gaining strength every day.
Gerald Wolfe of Greater Vision received the award for Special Event Project Producer of the Year for his work on the “Jubilee” series of recordings. Greater Vision is about to release a brand new recording called “ “ in May, 2013.

Sue Smith took home the award for Songwriter of the Year. Sue is a five time Dove Award winner and has written for such artists as Karen Peck & New River, Ernie Haase and Signature Sound, Brian Free & Assurance, The Hoppers and many others.