Award-winning Tenor DAVID PHELPS Takes His All-NEW Recording FREEDOM to the Stage for a LIVE DVD

unnamedNew Performance DVD Features Guest Appearances from the Gaither Vocal Band and Charlotte Ritchie

NASHVILLE, Tenn.—September 14th, 2015–GRAMMY®-nominated, classically-trained tenor David Phelps has just released an all-new DVD entitled Freedom (Gaither Music Group) featuring the songs from his latest recording, Freedom.

Recorded in The Phelps’ barn just south of Nashville, Tennessee, and produced by Phelps, the LIVE concert DVD captures the powerhouse vocals one might expect from this three-octave, “who’s who of vocalists,” who was backed by a nine-piece band in addition to background vocals from acclaimed recording artist Charlotte Ritchie and his daughters, Callie and Maggie Beth.

Phelps also brought to the stage reverent, acoustic moments portraying some of the down-home musical styles found on the companion Freedom audio recording. Whether sitting at the piano singing a vulnerable lyric such as “What I Need Is You,” penned by him, or energizing the crowd with the driving, country-flavored “Little White Church” or performing his own rendition of the gospel music classic “We Shall Behold Him,” he poured himself into the evening, invigorated by an enthusiastic crowd of friends and longtime fans.

Those audience members were delighted to hear “Water,” a new song penned by Gloria Gaither and Phelps, sung as a duet of David and daughter Maggie Beth; and the room cheered as the rest of the Gaither Vocal Band–Bill Gaither, Wes Hampton, Adam Crabb and Todd Suttles–took the stage to join Phelps for the toe-tapper “When We All Get Together with the Lord.”

Phelps’ vibrato rang out on the title cut of the new video, Freedom, as well as the stirring ballad written by Phelps for his daughter’s graduation ceremony, “Your Time Will Come,” which featured the Bethel University Drum Corps from McKenzie, Tennessee. Vocal Authority, also from Bethel University, was on hand to join Phelps throughout the evening, lending their poignant sound to the project’s arrangements.

The evening ended in celebration as the entire audience followed Phelps, his band, choir and drum corps down the aisle and out the front door, singing and clapping to his soulful, Cajun-based adaptation of the gospel music standard “When the Saints Go Marching In.”

Phelps, one of the most recognized artists on the Gaither HOMECOMING Series, sat down with longtime friend and mentor Bill Gaither for a behind-the-scenes interview for the video which will be positioned heavily at retail, via catalog placements and through a direct TV campaign, beginning this month on networks including Dish TV, DIRECTV, AT&T Uverse, PBS, GaitherTV, TBN, FamilyNet, CTN, GMTN, Guardian, Liberty, RFD, TCT and TLN. The campaign will also air in Canada on Vision TV, The Miracle Channel, Grace TV and CTS.

Freedom is distributed through Capitol Christian Distribution and is now available throughout general market stores and the Christian marketplace in addition to online retailers including iTunes, Amazon and

For a preview of the new DVD visit:

For further information regarding David Phelps, please visit, or @DPhelpsMusic.

Freedom DVD Song List:
01. I’m Coming Home
02. Who Do You Say That I Am
03. Rain
04. Ghost Town (Freedom)
05. Little White Church
06. Ain’t No Grave
07. Heaven’s Shore
08. Doxology (Featuring the Phelps’ children)
09. The Lily
10. Holy (Sanctus)
11. Revelation Song (Featuring Charlotte Ritchie)
12. If You See My Savior (Featuring Charlotte Ritchie w/ Maggie Beth and Callie Phelps)
13. Water (Duet with Maggie Beth Phelps)
14. When We All Get Together With The Lord (Featuring the Gaither Vocal Band)
15. Your Time Will Come
16. What I Need Is You
17. We Shall Behold Him
18. When The Saints Go Marching In

David Phelps is blessed with a vocal instrument unlike any other. The multi-platinum artist first entered the national spotlight when he joined the Gaither Vocal Band and has since performed at Carnegie Hall, the White House and many other halls and churches around the world. Phelps has won two GRAMMY® Awards and four GMA DOVE Awards. His latest work, Freedom, showcases his talents as a singer, songwriter, arranger and producer. Phelps lives outside of Nashville, Tennessee, with his wife, Lori, and four children: Callie, Maggie Beth, David Grant and Coby.