First List of Performers Announced for 2010 SGN Music Awards Celebration

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. – Deon and Susan Unthank, administrators of, are proud to announce the first list of performers for the 2010 SGN Music Awards Celebration.

Performers for this year’s SGN Music Awards Celebration include The Isaacs, Booth Brothers, Karen Peck & New River, The Perrys, Jeff & Sheri Easter, The Freemans, The Bowling Family (formerly Mike & Kelly Bowling), Soul’d Out Quartet, and McMillan & Life.

Additional performers and hosts are still being confirmed and will be announced at a later date.

“We have so much planned for this year’s awards program,” mentioned Deon Unthank of  “We will be making a big announcement at the event, so we hope that everyone who can join us, will.”

In addition, the evening will feature a mutli-artist collaboration that will honor the Southern Gospel veterans the Singing Cookes and the legacy that they have left and continue to leave today.

The date for this year’s SGN Music Awards Celebration is Tuesday, April 13, 2010.  The event will again take place at the River of Life Church in Smyrna, Tennesse and is free to the public.  The awards program will start at 7:00 p.m.  Doors open at 6:00 p.m.

As far as nominations go, two artists tied for the most nominations among performers this year.  Both The Perrys and Karen Peck & New River landed a stellar nine nominations apiece – more than any other artist this year. 2008’s Pacesetter the Dove Brothers earned eight nods. Following behind those artists were Legacy Five, The Isaacs, and Booth Brothers with seven nominations apiece.  Triumphant Quartet and Brian Free & Assurance both landed six nominations.  Two artists received five nominations – the Bowling Family (formerly Mike & Kelly Bowling) and Talley Trio.

Songwriter and producer Wayne Haun earned the most individual nominations for his work during 2009. Rodney Griffin earned six individual nominations for his songwriting work.  Earning five individual nominations were songwriters Marty Funderburk (2009’s Songwriter of the Year winner) and Rusty Golden. Gospel legend Bill Gaither, songwriter Joel Lindsey, and The Perrys’ lead singer Joseph Habedank all earned four individual nominations.

The Pacesetter Award is awarded to any artist, individual, or organization which has shown great strides in the industry and has raised the bar for others. This year’s nominees for the 2010 Pacesetter are new Gospel music celebration Branson Gospel Music Convention, Crossroads Music Group, SGShowPrep’s Chuck Peters, digital news outlet SGN Scoops Digital, and Vine Records.

For a full list of nominees, visit

More information on the 2010 SGN Music Awards Celebration will be forthcoming, including hosts, additional performers, and sponsors, etc.