National Quartet Convention Announces the NQC Music Awards Nominees

Louisville, KY – The National Quartet Convention has announced the 2012 nominees for the NQC Music Awards.  In partnership with the Southern Gospel Music Guild, the NQC will present these awards on Friday afternoon during the Friday afternoon Showcase Spectacular in Freedom Hall in Louisville, KY, on September 14.

According to the NQC Executive Vice President, Clarke Beasley, the awards will be presented based on both fan popularity and professional excellence, with two divisions of awards that will be presented.  The first division is the  Fan Awarded categories where awards will be determined by fan voting.   The second division will be the Industry Awarded Categories, which will be determined by the music professionals that participate as exhibitors during the National Quartet Convention. No purchase was required for those that are participating in the voting. All that was required is that they were registered on the NQC e-mail list prior to July 1st.

Beasley also states that the Southern Gospel Music Guild is an important partner in this process, as the SGMG is responsible for determining the category criteria, as well as screen entries for eligibility.  The SGMG professional membership also determines the recipient of the annual Les Beasley Award, given to a person or company that has made a significant impact in the field of Gospel Music.

Below is a complete list of the nominees for the 2012 NQC Music Awards.


Bass Singer of the Year Nominees:

Bennett, Eric – Triumphant Qt

Chapman, Jeff – Kingdom Heirs

Duncan, Tim – Canton Junction

Dustin, Glenn – Legacy Five

Riley, Tim – Gold City


Baritone Singer of the Year Nominees:

Brady, Jim – Booth Brothers

Griffin, Rodney – Greater Vision

Inman, Scott – Triumphant Qt

Lowry, Mark – Gaither Vocal Band

Trammell, Mark – Mark Trammell Qt


Lead Singer of the Year Nominees:

Booth, Ronnie – Booth Brothers

English, Michael – Gaither Vocal Band

Habedank, Joseph – Perrys

Rice, Arthur – Kingdom Heirs

Wolfe, Gerald – Greater Vision


Tenor Singer of the Year Nominees:

Allman, Chris – Greater Vision

Booth, Michael – Booth Brothers

Free, Brian – Brian Free & Assurance

Haase, Ernie – Ernie Haase & Signature Sound

Phelps, David – Gaither Vocal Band


Soprano Singer of the Year Nominees:

Alvey, Lauren Talley – Talleys

Collingsworth, Brooklyn – Collingsworth Family

Hopper, Kim – Hoppers

Isaacs Yeary, Sonya – Isaacs

Peck Gooch, Karen – Karen Peck & New River


Alto Singer of the Year Nominees:

Easter, Sheri – Jeff & Sheri Easter

Hopper, Connie – Hoppers

Stuffle, Libbi – Perrys

Talley, Debra – Talleys

Whisnant, Susan – Whisnants


Soloist of the Year Award Nominees:

Bishop, Mark

Crabb, Jason

Greene, TaRanda

Parker, Ivan

Penrod, Guy


Male Group of the Year Nominees:

Booth Brothers

Gaither Vocal Band

Greater Vision

Kingdom Heirs

Triumphant Qt


Mixed Group of the Year Nominees:

Collingsworth Family



Karen Peck & New River



Musician of the Year Nominees:

Collingsworth, Kim – Collingsworth Family

Mote, Gordon

Stice, Jeff – Triumphant Qt

Williams, Kevin – Gaither Vocal Band

Wolfe, Gerald – Greater Vision


Album of the Year Nominees:

Celebrate Me Home (Oak Tree) – Perrys

Let It Be Known – Booth Brothers

Part of the Family – Collingsworth Family

Songs From the Heart – Triumphant Quartet

The Only Way – Greater Vision


Song of the Year Nominees:

Almost Home – Triumphant Quartet

Ask Me Why – Legacy Five

Blue Skies Coming – Perrys

I Believe – Brian Free & Assurance

I Know a Man Who Can – Greater Vision

I Want to Know – Mark Trammell Quartet

Please Forgive Me – Gaither Vocal Band

Saved By Grace – Triumphant Quartet

She Still Remembers Jesus Name – Booth Brothers

Tell Me Why – Kingdom Heirs

Who Am I – Jason Crabb




Arranger/Producer of the Year Nominees:

Lari Goss

Wayne Haun

Ben Isaacs

Donna King

Steve Mauldin

Rick Sandidge

David Staton

Roger Talley


Concert Promoter of the Year Nominees:

Bill Bailey

Landon Beene

Ray Flynn

Bill Gaither

Brian Lester

Mike Wheeler


Radio Station of the Year Nominees:

WBOZ – Nashville

WCGW – Lexington

WJBZ – Knoxville

WTRM – Winchester, VA

WXRI – Winston Salem


SONGWRITER OF THE YEAR AWARD:  The SGMG Awards and Criteria Committee will pull the Singing News radio charts for the eligibility time period and will assign each songwriter fifteen points for a number one song, ten points for a song in the top ten and five points for a song in the top 20. The total points for the eligibility period will be tabulated for each writer and the writer with the most points will be awarded Songwriter of the Year.


To obtain a complete schedule of events scheduled during the 2012 National Quartet Convention, visit