Integrity Music’s Brian Doerksen Brings Worship Music To Level Ground with new DVD and CD

Brian Doerksen

MOBILE, Alabama (January 5, 2011) – Integrity Music announces the February 22 U.S. release of Level Ground, an innovative CD and DVD project from award-winning Canadian worship leader/songwriter Brian Doerksen.

The Covenant, Juno and GMA International Award winner was inspired by a unique concept for Level Ground. Doerksen wanted to produce a live recording that placed the musicians and singers among the worshippers and embraced the intimacy and simplicity of a small group while reserving the stage for people to share stories of grace.  The live recording took place at “The Barn,” a gathering place in Doerksen’s hometown of Abbotsford, B.C. The result: a 13-song CD and a DVD that features music and inspiring stories of lives transformed by the power of God.
“Level Ground is not just a collection of my new worship songs,” said Doerksen.  “It was inspired by Isaiah 40 which says, ‘Every valley shall be raised up, every mountain and hill made low; the rough ground shall become level. And the glory of the LORD will be revealed, and all mankind together will see it.’ It’s one of the most well-known passages of the scriptures. But the reality of grace and the leveling it speaks of continues to elude most of us in our cultures of competition.”

“We love elevating ‘stars’ and shaming ‘sinners’,” he continues. “God’s heart as Father longs to embrace us all and place us on level ground!  Through Him, we can all experience grace that transforms. My hope and prayer is that is exactly what you will experience as you listen to these songs and stories!”

The Level Ground DVD is a two-hour film that brings together a hybrid of several elements – it’s part concert film with all the songs from the CD (plus a new version of “Broken and Beautiful”) and part documentary with interviews, “grace stories” and behind-the-scenes footage.
Of the DVD, Doerksen says: “On the film version you are placed right in the middle of our gathering; you hear and see the music happen all around you. You witness an 8’ by 14’ painting that captures the concept of ‘level ground’ as it emerges. But beyond the music and the painting, perhaps best of all, you get to hear and see the grace stories. For me that’s the highlight of this project.”
Integrity Vice President Robert Brenner adds: “I’ve been to many recordings in my 20 years at the label, but I have never experienced anything like this evening of worship. We were all standing together, musicians amidst the worshippers and the powerful exchange that occurred between one another and with our God was transformational. This CD and DVD have the potential to open up an entirely new model of worship that takes the focus off of the leader and places it directly on our God.”
The Level Ground CD features new songs written by Doerksen along with co-writes by Paul Baloche, Kathryn Scott and Doerksen’s longtime collaborator/producer Phillip Janz.
The song list for Level Ground is:
1. Welcome To The Place Of Level Ground (writers Doerksen, Paul Baloche)
2. The Jesus Way   (writers Doerksen, Steve Mitchinson)
3. Lifelong Passion (writer Ali Berry)
4. Enter The Rest Of God (writer Doerksen)
5. Everything/God In My Living (writer Tim Hughes)
6. Will You Love Me In The Winter (writer Doerksen)
7. Here Is Love with Give Thanks (writers William Rees, Robert Lowry and Henry Smith)
8. No Condemnation (writers Doerksen, Janz)
9. Giver Of Life (writers Doerksen, Mitchinson)
10. Altar Of Love (writers Doerksen, Mitchinson, Janz)
11. Whatever Comes (writers Doerksen, Mitchinson)
12. Thank You For The Cross (writers Doerksen, Kathryn Scott)
13. First (writer Doerksen)

In addition to the CD and DVD, Level Ground worship resources (trax/songbook/digital songbook) are available.

Brian Doerksen is more than a songwriter and worship artist.  He is also an author, conference speaker and pastor. His songs, which are sung in churches around the world, include “Come, Now is the Time to Worship”, “Hope of the Nations”, “Faithful One”, “Refiner’s Fire”, “Hallelujah (Your Love is Amazing)” and “Holy God”.  He has recorded six albums in partnership with Integrity Music – Level Ground; It’s Time; Holy God; Live in Europe; Today and You Shine.
In 2008, Doerksen received a JUNO award (Canadian equivalent of the GRAMMY Awards) for Holy God (Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the year). For creating worship music that has impacted the global Church, he was honored by the Gospel Music Association with its “International Award.” In addition, he has received numerous Covenant Awards from Canada’s Gospel Music Association.
Born and raised on the west coast of Canada in Abbotsford, Doerksen now lives with his family (wife of 26 years Joyce and their 4 youngest children) in the same home that he spent his childhood in.  He continues to make his church home at ‘The Bridge’ in Matsqui village in Abbotsford, which he helped plant in the spring of 2006.
For more information on Brian Doerksen, visit or For a video preview of the project, visit